Karate-don't

Every karate group should publish solemn and respectful interviews with their own teacher, asking all the important questions, such as “What can I do to be worthy of your teaching?” and “Sensei, how did you get to be so great?”  We haven’t arranged a time for ours yet, but here’s a brief exchange from today to tide you over:

Me:  Yeah, you know, people always say that karate teaches you great self-discipline, but when my housemates kept nutella in the fridge over the summer, I just couldn’t stop eating it;  I don’t think you’re teaching it right.  

Robert Miller: Yes, sorry, I thought you knew.  Some karate teachers provide great lessons in self-discipline, but what we do develops bad character.

3 responses to “Karate-don't

  1. Adam says, Seriously, I am not Mr. Karate.
  2. Gillian Russell

    S’ok, I think I’ve found another way to build character. Here’s Mark Rippetoe on the squat:

    …and when done weighted, it is the best exercise in existence for strength, power co-ordination, joint integrity, bone density, confidence, discipline, intelligence, and charm. (Strong Enough? p.12)

    I might not be able to stay out of the nutella, but I’m going to be as charming as charming can be.

Leave a Reply

